Places to Visit: Tallulah Gorge State Park, GA

Tallulah Gorge State Park encloses much of Tallulah Gorge, a 2-mile long ravine in northeast Georgia. The park is notable for its breathtaking views of what I believe is the most spectacular canyon in the state of Georgia (yes, I have seen Providence Canyon. I like Tallulah better). As one of the Seven Natural Wonders of Georgia, Tallulah Gorge has a lot to offer. Down in the gorge, the naming pattern continues with the Tallulah River cutting a path through the Earth among a lush landscape of north Georgia trees.

Tallulah Falls is a set of waterfalls on the Tallulah River within the gorge. I didn’t get a particularly spectacular view, if I recall correctly, because I opted to just walk around the canyon’s rim trails rather than walking down the many steps to the canyon floor, but if you do aspire to get that perfect photograph or simply wish to see the river up close, there is a trail leading down into the gorge.

When I visited Tallulah Gorge State Park, I strung it together with a few other various north Georgia sites. I’d recommend visiting Helen, Georgia, while you’re up in the area (just for the novelty of the place), hiking around the nearby mountains, or travelling to some of the nearby lakes (Lake Rabun is really close). It helps if you have a nice, sunny spring or summer day when you visit; I imagine Tallulah gets quite a bit drearier in the wintertime. Just make sure you pack your camera!

Leave a Reply

