Chess.com’s iOS App: A Review

First off: sorry for the lack of posts lately. I’ve been a bit busy, and so I’ve not really been able to generate many new ideas for the past couple of weeks. Secondly, I’d like to clarify that this post is only in the ‘Video Games’ category because it’s a game that is on an electronic platform since it’s not really much of a video hame in the truest sense of the word.

Now for the app: all I can really think to say is that it’s fantastic! The app has lessons to help you get better (most of which are paid, but there are also daily puzzled which test your board vision skills) and the ability to play games against either a computer or human opponent. You can play your friends, too. This can happen either on the same device (just go to the play computer screen and make both players human) or online in either a daily or timed format. There are also always lots of other players online to play head-to-head, and your ELO rating is calculated and readjusted after each ranked match’s conclusion.

Now admittedly, I suck at chess. I really do. My ELO rating right now is in the high 800s… but hey, I’ll get better! As I keep learning, maybe I’ll make some posts about chess tactics and such, but I’ll probably post those under ‘Culture’ in the future.

One thought on “Chess.com’s iOS App: A Review

Leave a Reply

