Reflecting on Bethesda Softworks’ 2017 E3 Conference; Nothing New from Bethesda Game Studios?

Bethesda’s 2017 E3 conference is over, and I must admit that I’m disappointed. They talked about some expected things I mentioned in my preview post like Quake Champions, Fallout VR, and Skyrim for Switch, but the reveals they had seemed a bit underwhelming.

Bethesda Game Studios needs something new. There had been plenty of speculation about BGS coming out with a new space-themed IP at E3 2017, but this proved not to be the case. If there wasn’t any announcement for this “Starfield” IP, I had at least expected Bethesda Game Studios to come out with something new, but the studio had nothing to offer.

On the other hand, Bethesda Softworks as a whole did reveal two new games, The Evil Within 2 and Wolfenstein II: The New Colossus. The Evil Within 2 looks pretty decent, and I’m sure it’ll end up being a good horror game just like The Evil Within 2… but my word, Wolfenstein II: The New Colossus looks absolutely amazing. I’ve never actually played a Wolfenstein game (yes, I know, I’m a disappointment), but this game looks like a ton of fun. From the trailer, it feels a lot like the popular book and Amazon series, The Man in the High Castle, and it feeds off the American Dream of killing Nazis and restoring the Stars and Stripes to their rightful place on every flagpole in America.

Bethesda had a disappointing conference overall (we didn’t even get to see Todd Howard!), but on the bright side, E3 2018 will probably be huge.

Leave a Reply

